Organisation

The Office of Transport and the Office for Economy and Labour are under the umbrella of the Department for Economic Affairs. Administratively, the Zurich Transport Authority ZVV (public transport) also falls under the Department for Economic Affairs, as a so-called «dependent company» of the canton. The General Secretariat has a supportive leadership function for the entire Department and the Head of Department.

Head of Department

The Head of Department bears overall responsibility for the Department for Economic Affairs and its organisational units. He represents the Department for Economic Affairs to the outside and leads the directly subordinated persons. The staff in the outer office support the Head of Department, in particular by coordinating his appointments.

General Secretariat

The General Secretariat has a supportive role to play as the Staff Office for the entire Department for Economic Affairs in terms of organisation as well as on behalf of the Head of Department.

Office of Transport (OT)

One of the major tasks of the Office of Transport (OT) lies in the implementation of the total transport concept and the agglomeration programme, securing the interests of the Canton of Zurich in terms of air traffic and the owner interest of Zurich Airport as well as the strategic planning in the area of road infrastructures, strategic traffic management and project development of roads.

Office for Economy and Labour (OEL)

The Office for Economy and Labour (OEL) sees to the promotion of the business location of Zurich and contributes to a positive economic climate for companies. It supports a quick and lasting reintegration of job seekers and monitors both accident prevention as well as preventive medicine in companies. It also promotes the building of affordable housing.

Zurich Transport Authority ZVV (public transport)

The Zurich Transport Authority ZVV (public transport) deals with the development of public transport in the canton and the surrounding municipalities. To do so, it coordinates, manages and funds the ZVV S-Bahn trains, tramway and bus lines, waterway links and mountain railways.

Organisation

Unter dem Dach der Volkswirtschaftsdirektion sind das Amt für Verkehr und das Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit vereint. Der Zürcher Verkehrsverbund gehört administrativ ebenfalls zur Volkswirtschaftsdirektion, als sogenanntes «unselbständiges Unternehmen» des Kantons. Das Generalsekretariat erbringt führungsunterstützende Funktionen für die ganze Direktion und die Direktionsvorsteherin.

Direktionsvorsteherin

Die Direktionsvorsteherin trägt die Gesamtverantwortung für die Volkswirtschaftsdirektion und seine unterstellten Organisationseinheiten. Sie vertritt die Volkswirtschaftsdirektion nach aussen und führt die ihr direkt unterstellten Personen. Unterstützt wird die Direktionsvorsteherin vom Vorzimmer, das sich insbesondere um die Termine kümmert.

Generalsekretariat

Das Generalsekretariat nimmt als Stabsstelle führungsunterstützende Funktionen für die gesamte Volkswirtschaftsdirektion als Organisation sowie für die Direktionsvorsteherin wahr.

Amt für Verkehr (AFV)

Zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben des Amts für Verkehr (AFV) gehören die Umsetzung des Gesamtverkehrskonzeptes und der Agglomerationsprogramme, die Wahrung der Interessen des Kantons Zürich im Luftverkehr und der Eigentümerinteressen am Flughafen Zürich, sowie die strategische Planung im Bereich der Strasseninfrastrukturen, das strategische Verkehrsmanagement und die Projektentwicklung im Bereich der Strassen.

Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (AWA)

Das Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (AWA) fördert den Wirtschaftsstandort Zürich und trägt zu einem guten Wirtschaftsklima für Unternehmen bei. Es unterstützt die rasche und dauerhafte Wiedereingliederung der Stellen Suchenden und überwacht sowohl die Unfallverhütung wie auch die Gesundheitsvorsorge in den Betrieben. Zudem fördert es den Bau von preisgünstigen Wohnungen.

Zürcher Verkehrsverbund (ZVV)

Der Zürcher Verkehrsverbund (ZVV) sorgt im Kanton und den angrenzenden Gemeinden für die Erschliessung mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr. Hierzu koordiniert, lenkt und finanziert der ZVV S-Bahnlinien, Tram- und Buslinien, Schiffsverbindungen und Bergbahnen.